Crimson Fan UA Athletics Football FB Schedule FB Roster FB Recruits RSS Feeds Softball Baseball Gymnastics
Track & Field M/Tennis W/Tennis M/Golf W/Golf Swimming Volleyball M/Basketball W/Basketball Soccer Rowing

• Alabama Crimson Tide 2018 Season Opener •
• Alabama Crimson Tide • vs • Louisville Cardinals•
• September 1st, 2018 • 8:00 p.m. ET •
 Days  Hrs Mins Secs
• Gameday Info Here •

Day One of the SEC Coaches Classic in the Books for Alabama Men’s Tennis...

on Saturday, November 05, 2016

Crimson Tide Men's tennis:

The Alabama men's tennis team collected three wins in doubles and singles play in the first day of the Southeastern Conference Coaches Classic Presented by Hampton Inn by Hilton on Friday afternoon at the Alabama Tennis Stadium. The Crimson Tide's sophomores Mazen Osama and Spencer Richey will compete in the championship of the Ellis Ferreira doubles draw tomorrow.

Osama and Richey took down Pen Binet and Panu Virtunen of Vanderbilt in the first round, 8-6, before going on to top South Carolina's Gabriel Friedrich and Harrison O'Keefe in an 8-6 decision. The duo is set to take on Gabor Csonka and Julian Saborio of LSU tomorrow in the championship match.

Senior Ritchie Kruunenberg and freshman Alexey Nesterov registered the Tide's final doubles win of the day, as the pair defeated Vanderbilt's Tate Allwardt and Alex Ross in an 8-7(4) decision.

In singles play, Osama downed Panu Virtanen of Vanderbilt in straight sets, 6-2, 6-1. Richey won his first frame over LSU's Gabor Csonka, 7-5, before Csonka retired in the second frame with the score tied at 1-1. Freshman Thibault Cancel registered the Tide's final singles win, as he topped Johan den Toom of Arkansas in straight sets, 6-3, 6-3.

Alabama's draws in the 2016 SEC Coaches Classic are named after six previous ITA All-Americans. The three singles draws are named after Jeff Robinson, Francisco Rodriguez and John Stimpson. Robinson was named an All-American in 1976 and 1977, and Rodriguez earned the prestigious accolade in 1998 and 1999. 

Stimpson was named to the singles All-American list in the 1990 season. The three doubles draws are named after Ellis Ferreira, Andy Solis and Greg Hahn. Ferreira was named an All-American in 1989 and 1991. Solis and Hahn partnered up to earn the honor in 1985, and Hahn went on to earn the accolade the following year as well, 1986.

Saturday will feature one round of doubles that will begin at 9 a.m. CT, followed by two rounds of singles which is set to start at 10 a.m.

There will only be one round of singles that takes place on Sunday, and a start time for that lone flight is still to be determined.

No comments:

Post a Comment